St. Philip’s has a rich history dating back to 1794 and the Dutch, German and Danish Lutherans who settled in Berczy Village as the area around the church was then called. In 1829, unable to find a German speaking Lutheran pastor, these settlers received into their midst the Reverend Vincent Mayerhoffer, an Austrian Roman Catholic priest who had recently been ordained in the Church of England (Anglican). For almost ten years Mayerhoffer pastored a combined congregation in the Lutheran Church which stood across Kennedy Road where the Lutheran cemetery is. There was a German Lutheran service in the morning and an Anglican one in the afternoon. However political developments on the national front would have serious consequences for this otherwise happy arrangement.
- [email protected]